I kind of wish I wrote this because I agree with much of what the author said. The theology this young woman discusses wreaked havoc on my life, a type of havoc I am still trying to recover from. The “cause” and “effect” theology of “If you wait to have sex, then you will be blessed” is damaging because that isn’t necessarily the case. As I’m wont to argue, the “If you do good, then you’ll prosper” formula went away with Job and Solomon and we are existing in the “If you do good, you might prosper or you might not and either way it’s still all good–and all God.” (I can unpack this at another time.) You will not be more blessed because you waited to have sex or less blessed because you didn’t. Your husband or wife won’t arrive any faster because you abstained nor will he or she delay because you didn’t. I’m not saying this is license to be reckless but I am willing to say that type of theology is reckless and slightly unsubstantiated–at least if you have any empirical evidence from your fellow brothers and sisters in Christ that says the opposite. Lord there is so much more I could say, but I want folks to read the original post and formulate their own thoughts. What do you think?

